Lytro Support/Knowledgebase/Lytro Web - for Camera Owners

Sharing "unlisted" (non-public) pictures

Ian Ellison
posted this on April 01, 2013 04:37 PM

Lytro Web offers extensive tools for sharing pictures.

You can choose one of two possible privacy states for those pictures: public or unlisted (non-public).  

 

Here are some key aspects of understanding privacy options on Lytro Web:

 

  • Privacy on Lytro Web depends on the discretion of your friends and family.  It's possible for any picture, once shared, to be re-shared by those who can view it (i.e. those who have its URL / weblink)-- including being re-shared on social media services like Facebook or Twitter-- so be thoughtful about which pictures you share, and with whom.
    • TIP: If you ever find out a picture has been shared more widely than you intended, you have two choices:
      • you can delete that picture from its Picture Page on Lytro Web, or 
      • you can change the privacy of the Story (group of pictures) containing that picture to "unlisted" on your Lytro Web "My Homepage" and then re-share that newly-unlisted picture. 
    • However, it's best to avoid either of these situations since your original intended audience will find the link you initially shared is now broken.

 

  • To verify if a picture or Story is currently public or unlisted, first check the My Homepage or the Story Page to see whether the "Public" or "Unlisted" option has been set for the Story that contains the picture(s) you want to share:

LW_privacy_Home_Page_130501.jpg          LW_privacy_Story_Page_130501.jpg

    • Check the "Settings" button ("gear" icon) to change a Story's privacy state as desired.
    • Be cautious about making pictures "unlisted" after you share them, since that will break the link you initially shared.
  • It's best to upload pictures to Lytro Web in a Story (a group of pictures) based on your desired privacy level before sharing.
    • That's because anyone with the "tokenized" URL (link) you shared will be able to click through to view the entire non-public Story (group of pictures) which contains that picture. 
    • In other words, the permissions are the same whether you share a whole Story from its Story Page or a single picture within that Story from its Picture Page.  
    • This is still true if anyone who you shared with later decides to re-share that same tokenized URL (link), including on social media sites like Facebook or Twitter!
    • Some people may choose to upload a single picture at a time if they know they'd like to share just that one picture without worrying about giving access to other pictures at the same time.
 
Topic is closed for comments