What do the "public" and "unlisted" privacy settings for pictures do?

Currently Lytro Web supports two privacy states:

 

  • Public: You check the "post to your public Lytro.com page" checkbox when initially sharing pictures from Lytro Desktop, or afterward you set the "Public" option for that Album (group of pictures) directly on Lytro Web
    • Anyone can browse an individual user's picture gallery on Lytro Web to see their public pictures.

 

  • Unlisted: You un-check the "post to your public Lytro.com page" checkbox when initially sharing pictures from Lytro Desktop, or afterward you set the "Unlisted" option for that Album (group of pictures) directly on Lytro Web.
    • Anyone who visits the individual user's picture gallery will not see any "unlisted" pictures that user has posted. 
    • Note that having access to one unlisted Album (group of pictures) does not permit browsing a user's other unlisted Stories.
    • A special "tokenized" URL, specific to each Album, is always required to view unlisted pictures.  (Being signed in as the owner of an Album automatically grants this access.) 
    • Similarly, an Album that previously had always been public, once set to unlisted, cannot be viewed via the old URL.  From that point on, a "tokenized" URL would be required for access. 
    • Further, each time you set an Album to unlisted, you are creating a new token.  So if you change your mind twice, and make an Album unlisted a second time, the first "tokenized" URL won't work-- only the current "tokenized" URL will.
    • Therefore, no one can access a picture or an Album by guessing its URL.  Without the correct token, all anyone will see when guessing at a URL will be a privacy error message.
    • However, anyone who has the correct current "tokenized" URL does have the power to re-share it-- including via social media services such as Twitter or Facebook, so be thoughtful when sharing pictures.

 

IMPORTANT:

Comments

Powered by Zendesk