- What are my options if I don't want to use Lytro Web (pictures.lytro.com) at all?
Lytro camera owners can enjoy their living pictures without uploading them to the photo-sharing areas of lytro.com, known as Lytro Web. The Lytro camera comes with the Lytro Desktop software, which allows for direct transfer of the pictures to the user's computer, where the user can view and enjoy them.
- Can I control who can see my living pictures if I do decide to upload them to Lytro Web?
The only way to be certain your pictures will remain entirely private is not to upload them. Bear in mind that Lytro Web is essentially a picture-sharing service. You can make any of your pictures unlisted (non-public), so that only people with the specific weblink (URL) to those pictures can see them-- but any of the people you share that link with could choose to share it further, including in public contexts such as social media services like Twitter and Facebook.
- Can I use Lytro Web for commercial purposes?
- Does that mean I cannot print my own living pictures for commercial purposes?
- Can I use a Lytro camera for any other commercial purpose?
- Does all this mean Lytro is making some kind of ownership claim on my living pictures?
No. Lytro does not claim ownership of users' living pictures, either on lytro.com or elsewhere. Similarly to other photo-sharing websites, Lytro only obtains a license from its users that enables Lytro to deliver the services and functionality of lytro.com. Lytro is not claiming copyright on your pictures.