Desktop 4 - Working with Albums

Albums are groups of pictures within Lytro Desktop 4.  Use Albums to organize your photos.   

  • You can split, merge, rename and edit your picture Albums in Desktop 4 at  at any time.  
  • Each group of pictures you import from your Lytro camera will be assigned its own Album by default.
  • A picture can belong to any number of Albums. 

Splitting an Album:

  1. Select one or more pictures.
  2. Click and drag the selected pictures to the Sidebar, placing your mouse pointer between two existing Albums.
  3. Release the mouse button.
  4. You can now type in a name for this new Album.
    • You can also create a new Album first — and drag pictures into it later — from the top-level "File" menu, by selecting "New Album."

 

Copying pictures from Album to Album:

  1. Select one or more pictures.
  2. Click and drag the selected pictures to the Sidebar, placing your mouse pointer on the name of the destination Album.
    • If you are unable to place the mouse pointer on an Album name, that means the selected picture(s) already appear in that Album.
    • Currently two copies of a picture cannot appear in the same Album.
  3. The pictures will now appear in both Albums.

 

Merging Two Albums:

  1. For now, this process is basically just copying pictures, as above, followed by deletion of the originals.
  2. Just as when copying, select one or more pictures.
  3. Click and drag the selected pictures to the Sidebar, placing your mouse pointer on the name of the destination Album.
  4. Delete the original Album, or delete the selected pictures from the original Album.  (Otherwise the pictures will remain in both Albums.)

 

Renaming an Album [Mac]:

  1. Click the name of any Album in the Sidebar.
  2. Type the new name for the Album.

 

Renaming an Album [Windows]:

  1. Right-click the name of any Album in the Sidebar.
  2. Choose the "Rename" option.
  3. Type the new name for the Album.
    • You can also rename an Album by double-clicking the name of that Album at the top of the viewing area.

 

Editing an Album:

  1. For now, this process is basically just:
    • deletion when removing pictures from an Album, and
    • copying and/or merging when adding pictures to an Album.
  2. To get started, select one or more pictures.
  3. From the top-level "Picture" menu, choose "Remove Picture from Album."
    • The keyboard shortcut to remove pictures from an Album is the "delete" key.  
    • The removed picture(s) will remain in your Lytro Library (under "All Pictures"), and in all other Albums in which it appears, unless you
      • use the keyboard shortcut to delete that picture permanently:
        • "command" (Apple) + "delete" [Mac]
        • "ctrl" + "delete" [Windows]
      • or, from the top-level "Picture" menu, choose the second option, "Delete," which again is permanent.
  4. To expand an Album, use the Copying or Merging instructions above.
  5. To rearrange pictures within an Album, select one or more pictures, and drag them to a new location within the thumbnail grid.  
  6. For more on organizing pictures within an Album, see:
    Desktop 4 - Organizing your Living Pictures: Using Flags and Ratings

Opening an Album in a new Window:

  1. Double-click the "Album" icon to the left of any Album name.
  2. That Album will open in a new Lytro Desktop 4 window.  
  3. Opening an Album in its own window will allow you to compare two albums more easily, especially if you have a second monitor connected to your computer.
  4. To switch between two full-sized albums on the same monitor, use the top-level "Window" menu option.

Comments

Powered by Zendesk