Desktop 4 - Backing up Lytro Libraries

NOTE: The following article is only intended for the following purposes:

  • Backing up or restoring a copy of an existing Lytro Library.
    • For instance, to guard against a computer, hard drive, or data being lost, stolen, damaged, or corrupted. 
  • Making a copy of an existing Lytro Library in order to create a second version of that Lytro Library.
    • For instance, if you wish to edit down a copy of your main Lytro Library, to be kept on a laptop, that only contains your favorite pictures; while maintaining your original Lytro Library, to be kept on an external drive, that contains your complete collection of pictures.
    • Or, alternately, so that you can have one Lytro Library where all pictures have animations added, and another Lytro Library where they do not, and so on.
  • Moving an existing Lytro Library from one computer to another.
    • For example, when migrating to a new primary computer, or setting up a backup computer.

On the other hand, if you want to create a new Lytro Library — one for each calendar year, for instance, or one for each person who will be using the same Lytro camera or computer — or to open an existing Lytro Library from its current location, then you can just start working with Lytro Libraries directly within Lytro Desktop 4 instead.

 ---

A) MACINTOSH BACKUP INSTRUCTIONS:
  1. Make sure Lytro Desktop is fully shut down before manually copying a 
    Lytro Library


    Shut down Desktop before you begin the backup.
    From the Lytro Desktop menu, choose Quit Lytro Desktop.

    Otherwise you risk corrupting your Lytro Library, and we don't have a way of addressing that right now*.

  2. Open your Pictures folder:
    LD3_lib_pictures_library.jpg

In your Pictures folder, make a copy of the Lytro Library you want to back up: by default it's named Lytro Library. (This special folder is known as a "package", and its full name is "Lytro Library.lytrolibrary").  Here's how to make a copy:

  • Select the Lytro Library file to be backed up.
  • From the File menu, choose Duplicate (⌘D). This will create a file named Lytro Library copy. This is your new backup. 
  • You may want to rename each backup of your Lytro Library to help prevent mixing up your backups, e.g. 
    Lytro Library Backup July-29-2014.lytrolibrary
    or similar.  

    TIP: After each backup, check the size, date and time information on the original and backup Lytro Library files to confirm that you've made an exact copy.
 
 
B) MACINTOSH RESTORE INSTRUCTIONS:
  • Use these instructions if you wish to use your backup Lytro Library in a new location going forward, e.g. on your laptop instead of on an external drive, whenever you use it:
  1. Make sure Lytro Desktop is fully shut down before manually restoring or moving a Lytro Library

    Shut down Desktop before you begin the backup.
    From the Lytro Desktop menu, choose Quit Lytro Desktop.

    Otherwise you risk corrupting your Lytro Library, and we don't have a way of addressing that right now*.
  2. Copy the Lytro Library package from its backup location to the Pictures folder, as shown in the screenshot above.  You do not need to rename the Lytro Library before doing so, but it is recommended.

IMPORTANT:  After moving a Lytro Library from a Mac computer to a Windows computer, you must rename the package from "Lytro.lytrolib" to just "Lytro" so that it can become an ordinary Windows folder. In all other cases — Windows to Mac, Mac to Mac and Windows to Windows — no filename extension changes need to be made.  

In all cases, it is best to be running the current version of Lytro Desktop on both computers*.

 

--- 

a) WINDOWS BACKUP INSTRUCTIONS:
  1. Make sure Lytro Desktop is fully shut down (File -> Exitbefore manually copying a Lytro Library! Otherwise you risk corrupting your Lytro Library, and we don't have a way of addressing that right now*.  
  2. Make a copy of the Lytro Library, which contains all of your living pictures, located by default in your pictures folder: C:\Users\[Username]\Pictures.

TIP: You may want to rename each backup of your Lytro Library, e.g. "Lytro Library Backup July-13-2013," to help prevent mixing up your backups.  If ever in doubt, you can check the "date modified" information on each Lytro Library.

b) WINDOWS RESTORE INSTRUCTIONS:

  • Use these instructions if you wish to use your backup Lytro Library in a new location going forward, e.g. on your laptop instead of on an external drive, whenever you use it:
  1. Make sure Lytro Desktop is fully shut down (File -> Exit) before manually restoring or moving a Lytro LibraryOtherwise you risk corrupting your Lytro Library, and we don't have a way of addressing that right now*.  
  2. Copy the Lytro Library folder from its backup location to its desired location (the default folder "C:\Users\[Username]\My Pictures" is recommended, but not necessary).  You do not need to rename the Lytro Library before doing so, but it is also recommended.
  • To move a Lytro Library from one Windows User Account to another (on the same computer or hard drive):
    1. Make sure the User Account you'll be using for the transfer has its permissions set to "Admin."
    2. Use the "Start" button (Start > Computer) to navigate to C:\Users, then into the User Account you want to copy from, then to the correct pictures folder for that User Account: C:\Users\[Username]\My Pictures.
    3. Right-click on the Lytro folder and choose "Copy."
    4. Use the "Start" button (Start > Computer) to navigate to C:\Users, then into the User Account you want to copy to, then to the desired pictures folder for that User Account (C:\Users\[Username]\My Pictures), then right-click within that folder and choose "Paste." 

IMPORTANT: After moving a Lytro Library from a Mac computer to a Windows computer, you must remove the package extension ".lytrolibrary" so that the Lytro Library can become an ordinary Windows folder. In all other cases — Windows to Mac, Mac to Mac and Windows to Windows — no extension or naming changes need to be made.  

In all cases, it is best to be running the current version of Lytro Desktop on both computers*.

 

 

 --- 

IMPORTANT:

  • *Sometimes you may see a "your picture library is corrupted" error, even though your Lytro Library is actually fine.  (This is especially likely to happen when moving a library between two computers running different versions of Lytro Desktop, or if you have selectively restored content on your computer with Time Machine, or a similar software backup program.)  
  • In any case, if you ever see this error, make sure you are running the latest version of Lytro Desktop.
  • Don't forget that Lytro Libraries created with Lytro Desktop 3.0.1 or below must be migrated before they can be used in Lytro Desktop 4.

 

Comments

Powered by Zendesk